This past Sunday I loaded up Tari and took her down to the arena I do most of my showing at. Its deeper, and bigger to allow her more room to move. I've been doing very little, but some loping with her. I only ask her to go a few strides, maybe one whole circle. She is picking it up very quickly. She already responds quickly to my cue to lope (a kiss) and naturally picks up the correct lead 95% of the time.
After we rode at that ring, I took her to her new barn and let her settle in. I had a minute before I had to go home and decided I'd try riding her bareback again. The first time I rode her bareback wasn't eventful, but I didn't ask her to do much. Now, she knows how to trot off, and bend and give to me and turn when I ask and such, so there was a bit more "work" involved in this bareback session. So anyway, a few hours after she was settled in at the barn, I pull her out, put on her bridle and walked her out to the ring and mounted from the mounting block. She did great. I walked her around and she wasn't doing her normal baby "Bob and weave" shenanigans. :) Then after about 15 minutes of walking around and stepping all over the stuff in the ring (a few ground poles) I asked her to trot a slow large circle and she did great. She is doing SOOOO well!
Thanks for reading!
Tuesday, February 3, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment