Wednesday, December 17, 2008

I rode Tari bareback today...

This morning, I had the day off work, so I figured if I fell off and hurt something, I'd have almost 24 hours to recooperate before I had to go back to work.

I've been contemplating getting on her bareback for a while. It would be easy if I could ride her bareback, because I could ride her around in the pasture to work her a little bit. It would get her ridden more often. I'm just too dern lazy to drag my saddle out there and put it on her to ride.

Anyway, after I fed her this morning and led her out to the pasture to turn her out, I climbed up on the fence and got her close to it. I stood up on the fence in prep to get on her and she raised her head and moved perpendicular to the fence. I figured she'd do that. I got off the fence, and led her back over parallel. Stood up again, rubbing her all along, and she was fine. Apparently rubbing her is what she needs? LOL.

So then, I layed over her back, moving all over so she'd feel my weight moving directly on her back. She was fine. So, I stood back up on the fence, put my leg over her back, rubbed her and lowered myself on to her back. She stood there and kept trying to turn around and bite my boot. I sat there and made her stand, then she shifted her weight back and forth. Then I asked her to take a step to the side and walk off, and she did great! She just kept walking. I was so proud of her.

Now, I know she'll be alright bareback, so hopefully, she'll be getting ridden more often now! YAY!

No comments:

Post a Comment