On new year's eve, Sandy and I decided that we would go to a new covered arena and ride. Rachel took Sundance and rode him around. Sandy rode Bettis and he was doing great loping circles with the barrels up without freaking out. I took Tari.
First, we started out loading her on Sandy's trailer. She didn't want to get on at first, but it only took about 5 minutes and she hopped on. We put her between Bettis and Sundance and she wasn't happy. She isn't happy about much in trailer. Anyway, we get there and unload. Now, its like 40 degrees outside and WINDY! There are flags on pole just a making a horrible sound. I took her in the barn away from the windy stuff to protect Sandy's trailer, and the boys. Id hate for one of them to get kicked. I put her in cross ties and she pawed the snot out of the floor. Luckily she didn't get anywhere cause it's concrete. HAHA!
So then I get on, I walked and trotted her around. Stopped and backed her. She was doing great. I even walked the pattern a few times. She's coming along. Then all of a sudden after Rachel loped circles and Bettis loped circles, sandy says, "Have you ever loped her before?" "No" I said. "I wanna see you lope her."
So, I push her into a lope and she breaks into her best impression of a rodeo bronc horse. Afterwards I asked sandy how many times she left the ground and she said at least 15. She wasn't just bucking. She was a rodeo bronc. Rearing up bringing all four feet off the ground and kicking out. As soon as she hit the ground she did it again. I almost came off to the left halfway through her little hissy fit, but I regained my seat and got her stopped. I proceeded to tell her that was not an acceptable behavior and then went off walking and trotting circles. Then I pushed her into a lope again which took a bit more encouragement this time but she loped about 3 strides and I patted her and ended it at that.
In retrospect, I should have known she was going to do it, and probably could have prevented it, but with her history of this behavior I think this will be the only time she does that. Hopefully that was a one time occurance, and I truly believe it will be.
So, today, I'm soaking a very sore body in a long hot bath. This Saturday, we'll see if she does it again.
Thursday, January 1, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Hi! I've been reading your blog (I'm nikki6455 from NCHN!). I'm in the process of training a 3 year old Mustang, so I feel your pain with Tari! I have been trotting Wiley for months and months now, but I haven't worked up the courage to canter him yet. I'm afraid he'll do his own impression of a bronc and I won't make it through!
ReplyDeleteHi! And thanks for reading!
ReplyDeleteIt really was my own fault. I'm not sure if I mentioned it in my post - but the first time she walked while saddled, she went crazy. Then the first time she trotted she went crazy. She isn't that great lounging, so I don't let her circle get big enough to ask her to lope. So it was my own fault. I should have known she'd go crazy when she first loped. I've loped her twice since, and she was perfect. I hope that gives you a bit of confidence!